FileNamingSetup

The File Naming Setup dialog enables the user to customize the names of rendered files.  The dialog is available for renders using the following tools: AudioTrim, AviDub, RenderEvents, and RenderPlus.  It is launched from those tools by clicking on the following icon  which is located within the Where to Save groupbox of each of the dialogs.  To see an example for each type of render, click on the preview button .

1. Available Names

a. Project Name.  For RenderPlus, the file name entered in the Where to Save dialog box.  For the others, it is the name of the Vegas project.

b. "Loop Region". Text entered to identify render as a selection loop.

c. Start End Frame Numbers.  The beginning and end frame numbers for the render.  E.g. Frame 1222 to 1522.

d. Region Index. Region index as defined by its position on the timeline.

e. Region Name.  Name of the region.

f.  Active Take Name.  Name of the active (topmost) take for an event.

g. Media File Name.  Name of the media file associated with the selected event.

h. Track Index.  Track index as shown on the Vegas timeline.  Available when the "by track" option is selected in AudioTrim and RenderPlus.

i. Track Name.  Track name as shown on the Vegas timeline.  Available when the "by track" option is selected in AudioTrim and RenderPlus.

2. General Options

a. Existing File Options:  Action that occurs whenever a file exists with the same name.

(1). New File Add Index. Add an index to the base file name and continue the render.  E.g. if MyProject.MP4 exists, the name of the file would be MyProject-01.MP4.

(2)  Overwrite File.  Attempts to overwrite the file.  If the file is in use and cannot be overwritten, the user has the option to add an index and continue.

(3) Ask to Overwrite File.  A dialog appears asking to overwrite.

b. Add Prefix.  Text may be added to the beginning of the file name. 

c. Add Suffix.  Text may be added to the end of the file name.

d. Separator.  A dropdown list of separators that include dash, underscore, and space.

3.   Clears all entries.

4.   Resets to default settings.